Thursday , September 16 2021
Home / Gorilla Agreement

Gorilla Agreement

The agreement contains seventeen articles; However, the most important is Article III, which contains general conservation measures. The parties to the gorilla agreement have:[2] The gorilla gorilla gorilla gorilla from the western plains The appendix indicates the geographical scope of the gorilla agreement, i.e. all states of scope of all types and subspecies of gorillas. These include Angola, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Congo, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Nigeria, Rwanda and Uganda. The second MoP took place from 26 to 27 November 2011 in Bergen, Norway. [4] Four resolutions were adopted in the second moP on the following topics: cooperation and exchange of information improving the implementation of veterinary and plant health authorities; Financial matters the institutional provisions of the agreement and the elements of the management of information on gorilla conservation. [5] The parties represented were Congo, Gabon and Nigeria, as well as the all-party states of Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea and Uganda. All 10 states planned to attend the meeting, but representatives from Angola, the Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of Congo and Rwanda were unable to obtain visas in time. The technical committee would normally meet once between the ordinary three-year MoPs. The Committee may work by correspondence between formal meetings. The main task of the technical committee is to provide the MoP and the parties with scientific and technical advice and information and to make recommendations on the action plan, the implementation of the agreement and the continuation of the research.

In addition, in the event of an emergency affecting the conservation status of one or more gorillas, the committee may request that measures be taken to reduce this threat. The first MoP took place on November 29, 2008 in Rome, Italy. [3] During the first MoP, four action plans were adopted (one for each subspecies of the gorilla); An annual contribution of 3,000 euros has also been agreed (to date, only Rwanda`s contribution has been received). Finally, two resolutions were adopted, one on monitoring and reporting and the other on the creation of the technical committee. The meeting brought together Congo, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon, Nigeria and the all-party states of Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea and Uganda. The agreement and the documents that were expressly included in the agreement contain the full agreement between you and us regarding their purpose and replace all prior written or oral agreements, statements or agreements between you and us. Article VIII of the Gorilla Agreement stipulates that the parties adopt action plans for all gorilla species and subspecies. These plans define the measures implemented in accordance with the general conservation measures covered by Article III.

At each regular MoP session, action plans are reviewed and can be modified. At the first MOP in 2008, four action plans (one for each subspecies) were adopted. They were designed by the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences and are based on existing IUCN/SSC plans. The plans contain a list of the main sites; identify the main threats and identify the priority measures needed by country. [8] The two species of gorillas, Western gorillas and eastern gorillas, are listed under CMS with two subspecies: the secretariat is the executive body of the agreement. The CMS secretariat acts as the interim secretariat of the gorilla agreement, as agreed at the 32nd CmS Committee in November 2007. Bradnee Chambers has been Executive Secretary of CMS since March 2013 as Executive Secretary of the Gorilla Agreement. The establishment of an independent secretariat, as indicated in Article VII of the agreement, depends on funding. At the 2nd MoP in 2011, it was decided that the interim secretariat would consider the possibility of a part or organisation/institution – such as UNEP or GRASP – as host of the permanent secretariat. [7] In the preamble, the parties refer to the list of all gorilla taxa in Schedule I of the CMS because of their unfavourable state of conservation.

Check Also

Csu Auxiliary Operating Agreement

For auxiliaries who accept grants, contracts or other agreements funded by third-party funds and who …